cody bear's friends


ornery dog, just chill…
March 29, 2008, 6:48 pm
Filed under: animals, blogs, dogs, love, mutts, pets

cody bear knows he is in the proverbial dog house.  last night’s cat chase started things, but this morning’s behavior sent me to my car to drive to the bagel shop so that i could vent to a friend (instead of to cody bear) about what a bad dog he was this morning, barking aggressively at the friendly neighborhood senior citizen dog.

cody absolutely hates that dog.  we can walk by other dogs, some even barking at him, but when he sees that old dog he goes NUTS.  puppyhood memory?

anyway, he knew i was mad, even though i left the house. i was that mad.

here he is…trying to soften me up by seeking his comfort zone:

regrets1.jpg

he then made himself as cuddly as possible so we could start the forgive and forget process of the day:

regrets2.jpg

i have high expectations of my dog, so sometimes i just have to say, “ok, he barks.  fine, he isn’t the neighborhood sweetheart.”  people see him like this and say “he needs training” not knowing that he knows more tricks than any dog i’ve ever met, and if it weren’t for wanting to chase cats and being scared of dogs, he really is perfect.  he does great at agility, is one of the best dogs there, and always the star of his dog school classes.  but i have to stop doing that.  that there, defending him.  he’s a dog.  he isn’t perfect.  he’s been attacked alot in his past, so its only natural he doesn’t trust every dog he meets.

but he is cute.  and he loves me.  he protects me.  he makes me and my friends laugh.

and i don’t mind the shedding.

i just hate that people think he’s a jerk.  he’s come very far.  i used to not be able to walk him at all.  two years ago if he saw ANY dog he would go ballistic.  now, most people don’t even know he was ever like that.  so, i guess that’s saying something.  and he’s always ornery when his stomach hurts. oop, there i go again.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

He looks too sweet to stay mad at! Awww…

Comment by S. Le

i know. we had a good snuggle and we’re friends again. he needs LOTS of exercise to keep him from being naughty…

Comment by goodbear

The first pic he looks like he definitely knows he’s in trouble

Comment by Tasmaniac

I love Cody Bear, and I know he’s a sweet baby. And he does make me laugh! What more could you want from a dog? My Coco, and even Emma despite her longness in tooth, still do “dog” things. I get perturbed a bit – but then I remember they are dogs. And that’s why I love them.

Comment by Rebecca

thanks for your understanding rebecca. and thanks for lovin’ my guy.

Comment by goodbear

It was just a squeakless rubber chicken kinda day. There will be happier, squeakier ones. Good job, venting at the bagel shop and not in the house!

Comment by lavenderbay

Such endearing words for a “Cody Being Bad Moment.” (Cody is a well loved dog)

Now Boo is a cat, sort of like a dog only different. When my wife, Anna, catches “Boo Being Bad,” she picks him up and gives him three kisses. That’ll teach em’.

Comment by Preston Surface

poor boo! i may have to call the authorities and report anna!

Comment by goodbear

My owner told me this once; he read it in a buddhist book, I think, “You’re perfect for where you are at right now.” So even when I chewed my owner’s wallet, tv remote, Christmas lights…

Comment by Checkers

checkers, that was a good lesson for him, too. you helped him by eating the remote and wallet that he shouldn’t be upset when his earthly attachments and material items are taken.
nice job, checkers, very much an enlightened dog.

Comment by goodbear

Om, mani padme hum… Om, many pat me, mmm…

Comment by lavenderbay

A dog that doesn’t want to chase a cat is not really a dog.

Comment by Gina




Leave a Reply

