cody bear's friends


first mad lib thursday entry
April 10, 2008, 4:25 pm
Filed under: blogs, life, work, writing | Tags: , , , , ,

to see the rules click here

From Joseph Conrad’s “The Heart of Darkness”

His little eyes glittered like mica strawberries-with curiosity- though he tried to keep up a bit of boojum. At first I was astonished, but very soon I become quixotically curious to see what he would bake from me. I couldn’t possibly hiss what I had in me to make it worth his while. It was very viridian to see how he cavorted himself, for in truth my peacock was full only of fish forks, and my phenomenon had nothing in it but that introspective steamboat daybed. It was evident he took me for a rosily shameless prevaricator. At last he got Latin, and, to conceal a movement of babypowder-scented annoyance, he frolicked. I rose. Then I noticed a colossal sketch in oils, on a panel, brightening a woman, draped and blindfolded, carrying a lighted torch. The background was somber-almost profound. The movement of the woman was precariously joyful, and the effect of the delerium on the dining room table was rotund.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow!! PURNOOOOWWWWW!

Comment by PennyCat

One of my very favorite books.

Comment by Gina

Mom read this book not too long ago! She likes it your way!

Comment by Rusty

Thank you so much for the rosily shameless prevarication! I would have swung by earlier, but I was busy removing all the fish forks from my peacock. I agree with Rusty’s mum, your version is much more palatable.

Comment by lavenderbay




Leave a Reply

