cody bear's friends


wanted: earplugs and a laundress. just kidding…
July 28, 2008, 6:01 am
Filed under: dogs | Tags: , , , , , , ,

typically i find cicadas in my pants. for real.

when my jeans are hanging on the line, i will sometimes be startled with the deafening cicada scream when i disturb the insect resting on my jeans.  but here is a night time cicada,….pants free.

i admit it, the cicadas used to freak me out.  the first time one was on my jeans,….i ran back in the house and looked out the back door.  i tossed a dog toy at the jeans from the door way, hit the pants, it screamed and flew away.  then it was safe.  now, the cicadas are proof:  my camera somehow gives me courage!

these bugs are nothing but loud.  ear drum shreddingly so.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Loud and glinting of the rainbow, if one has the courage to approach… congratulations on having it!
My laundry mostly attracts earwigs, but once I had the privilege to watch a butterfly unfurling its tongue and drinking from a damp tee-shirt!

Comment by lavenderbay

hello goodbear its dennis the vizsla dog hay now no pants free cicadas arownd heer i thawt this wuz a kleen blog i didnt no yoo wurkd blue!!!! ok bye

Comment by jamesviscosi

I love to hear them. Hehe to Jim’s comment…uh, Dennis’ comment. 😉

Comment by Gina

Growing up in Florida the sound of cicadas was the alarm that told me it was hot. Too hot. And as I hate the heat I came to hate the messenger. Maybe one day I’ll be able to forgive them…..

Comment by forkboy

That bug looks extra tasty. Caramel eyes…ummmmm.

Comment by Checkers

Those bugs are truly from an evil place. I was raised Catholic, so I can tell you… if you encounter one, it’s such a hideous experience that God actually gives you 2,000 years off of your purgatory time. If someone throws one on you (like my friend did in high school), you get 5,000 years off purgatory, AND you get to drive off, leaving her stranded for a ride two towns over.

Comment by sparkychronicles

Amazing photo!

Comment by S. Le




Leave a Reply

