cody bear's friends


goodbear nears breaking point on 10/19. so the story goes…
October 20, 2008, 6:29 am
Filed under: animals, dogs, life, mutts, pets, photography | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

don’t read this post.

i’m venting.

why are you still reading?  fine.  if you must know….i’m at my breaking point with cody bear’s illness.  after saturday morning i thought we had made a break through. but tonight we had a major set back.  and not only did his illness step it up a notch, it severely affected his behavior.

always so confident about his surroundings, able to over come any environmental fear…tonight, upon getting ill, he was suddenly terrified of the building we were in.

i’m about a pencil lead’s breadth away from having a complete meltdown.

meanwhile, after a great day trip with friends and pickles, i come home, take cody bear to his trek that gets him sick and terriried, and return home to a complaint from my neighbor to please do something about pickles’ barking.

she is STILL barking whenever i leave with cody bear.  and onnnly when i leave with him, as far as i know.

it was only a matter of time till someone complained.  but really,….it was the last thing i needed to hear after rushing home with a sick dog.

so, yes, i’m nearing my breaking point.  i love my dogs more than anything…but…why do i have them?  oh, right, cuz they make me happy.

‘cept right now.  now that i’m worried about one and in trouble because of the other.

i told you not to read this post!

annnywayyys….if you’re wondering about why the lighting in these pictures is so soft and coooool, it is because i used the canon 580EX flash and bounced it off the ceiling above the dogs’ heads.  nice, eh?

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know my sympathy won’t change anything, but you can have it anyway. And anyone else with more than one dog will probably know where you’re coming from, too.

Comment by lavenderbay

I think you need a Codybear decoy to leave Pickles when you two go on a walk. 😉 Would a kong full of peanut butter help?

I’m sorry to hear about Codybear’s health. I really hope the source of his sickness gets resolved soon, or even that his body works it out somehow.

Comment by stilllifeinbuenosaires

x-ray, x-ray, x-ray.

I certainly hope things get better for CB. And poor Pickles….no doubt separation anxiety. Don’t know what one does about that sort of problem.

That bouncy flash idea sounds really good! I’m going to have to try that sometime 😉

Comment by forkboy

Aww, poor Cody Bear and Pickles and Goodbear. I hope things improve soon. Perhaps you’d like a copy of the relaxing “Through a Dog’s Ear” music? I don’t know if it will help Pickles not bark when you’re gone, but perhaps it will make your neighbor fall asleep …

Comment by Dennis the Vizsla

Hang in there Goodbear! Things will get better.

A Citronella collar did a great job of solving Oliver’s barking problem. We only had to use it a few times before he got out of the habit.

Comment by Laura

Wow, sounds like a tough weekend

Hope CB feels better

Hang in there! 🙂

Comment by Tom

well said lavenderbay.all us multi-dog families know your frustration.if you need anything we are here for you!
virtual hug.

Comment by buzzybeegirl

So sorry. I know a little about what you’re going through. Our neighbor said something about Tuffy barking too much. I’m so mad at him…the neighbor (not Tuffy). 🙂

Comment by Gina

Hey goodbear, So sorry to hear of your rough time. When principesa used to go crazy when we left her alone, the vet suggested I leave a tape recorder of my voice. I left a recording of me reading Locke’s Second Treatise of Govt (which I had to read for class anyway). Puppy Principesa did quiet down, either b/c she got used to being alone or b/c she fell asleep to Locke (I know I did everytime)

And you’re right abt them making us happy. There are times when the babies make life a challenge, but life would be unbearable for me without them. take care!

Comment by tanglad

Hi – I’ve been MIA for awhile and just had a chance to swing by and see how Codybear is feeling. I’m sorry that you are dealing with the dog drama. I have similar issue with the barking with Mabel. If she even loses sight of us for a 1/2 of a second the barking ensues. The bark collar works with her. It started as she had to wear the collar, now all we have to do is show it to her and she’ll shut her yapper.

I’m continuing to send healthy & positive wishes to Codybear (and you!!!). Vent whenever you need.

Comment by elizabeth




Leave a Reply

