cody bear's friends


pickles’ sleepy-time milestone
October 26, 2008, 2:33 pm
Filed under: animals, border collies, canine, dog, dogs, life, pets, puppies | Tags: , , , , , ,

last night pickles walked into her crate and laid down like a good girl.  bed time.  i shut the door, got into bed and told cody bear to hop up.  i looked down at pickles and she just looked so big in the little crate.  i leaned over and opened the door.

her first free range night!  she was a very good girl!  at first, while i was reading, she wanted to select one of my shoes and was rooting around my pile of magazines.  but “no” worked. and once i turned off the lights, she settled down on her doggie bed.  in the middle of the night she went back into her crate for a deeper sleep. at sunrise, she left me and cody bear alone, got up out of her crate, found a dental bone and went over to the doggie bed for some gnawing.  she put her paws on the bed once, but that was all.  when she saw we were awake, she came over to the bedside, sat, and commenced wagging while giving me the “i was a good girl and i’m so cute can i come up on the bed” look she must have been practicing all night.

i didn’t let her up, though. puppy steps, puppy steps!

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Way to go Pickles!!
Hannah

Comment by Hannah

Good girl!

I can just imagine her saying to herself, “I’m a big girl now.”

Comment by stilllifeinbuenosaires

Well done, Pickles!

Comment by Dennis the Vizsla

Ahh Pickles it will only be a matter of time before you have your little doggie head on the pillow!!

Comment by PennyCat

How does one get a message to Pickles? (“Hey Pickels! The cats and I will let you range on our bed if you want.)

😉

Comment by forkboy

Well Pick;les don’t feel bad about not getting up on the bed bed. I too am not always allowed on the bed bed. So don’t think you are alone!

Comment by daisydog

I think getting up on people beds is overrated. I, for one, love my dog bed and don’t want to sleep anywhere else. Plus, I’ve got a nice comforter and get tucked in on cold winter nights.

Comment by Hannah

I think getting up on people beds is overrated. I, for one, love my dog bed and don’t want to sleep anywhere else. Plus, I’ve got a nice comforter and get tucked in on cold winter nights.

Comment by Hannah

Awww Good girl Pickles. Maybe soon!

Comment by Gina

Congratulations to a very good puppy! We’ve recently changed our minds about dogs on the bed, and continuing to crate Fergus at night possibly helps Cai not to feel so bad. “At least I get to sleep on the sofa,” he can say to himself.

Comment by lavenderbay

Woohoo! Good for Pickles. I remember Cosmo’s first night out of the crate … he slept on the end of my bed .. and about half way through the night he jumped down and went to sleep in his crate.
She’s is a real keeper.

Comment by twobarkingdogs




Leave a Reply

