cody bear's friends


make my playlist….please?
January 6, 2009, 7:38 pm
Filed under: animals, dogs, mutts | Tags: , , , , , , ,

for my birthday…in september….work gave me a new ipod and 50mac bux.  itunes giftcard.

i haven’t purchased anything.  i don’t know what to get.  sooo, i would like suggestions of songs, podcasts, what-have-you.

i use the ipod when:

1. walk the dogs

2. have difficulty sleeping

3. want to avoid hearing the nerd-speak of the techy guys at work.

it’s an 8GB nano and i have 5.4 gigs available.  please suggesssst….NOW

and thanks.

oh, and here’s a picture of cody bear, which is why you’re really here.

thebear

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What kind of music do you like? If you email me your mailing address (work or PO box is fine; I’m not trying to be nosy) I’ll send you a few thousand of my MP3 files I’ve collected (legally of course). Also, recently on Itunes I’ve discovered some new music (and I’m not one to like new stuff). Tresspassers William is nice for mellow times when you want to relax. Sia (Some People Have Real Problems) is fast becoming my fav album (and I usually only like songs, not albums).

Comment by Drunkbunny

me, too! i never get the full album. that’s why i was so glad when you could purchase just the song. i have wasted so much money on tapes and cds in my life that sucked but had one great song. (well….some albums were ENTIRELY awesome…but those are the greats)
thanks for the suggestions! i will look into them tonight. i like the winnie-the-pooh reference of tresspassers william, so will try them first!

Comment by goodbear

I love Paul Simon’s Graceland Album for walking. is upbeat and fun.

Comment by daisydog

I will totally send you some of my fav playlists when I get home on Sat. What music do you like?

Comment by stilllifeinbuenosaires

anything Wilco — but start with A Ghost is Born, or Summerteeth. Get the entire album.

Also these albums: Ryan Adams, Heartbreaker; Whiskeytown, Pneumonia or Stranger’s Almanac; The Flaming Lips, Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robot; Everclear, Sparkle and fade; Elvis, Sunrise; The Flying Burrito Brothers, Farther Along; Golden Smog, Down by the Old mainstream; The Jayhawks, Rainy Day Music; Johnny Cash, American Recordings; The Police, Live; Radiohead, Pablo Honey; Son Volt, Trace; Uncle Tupelo, Anodyne.

That’s a good start for music.

Podcasts: This American Life; Writer’s Almanac; and Radio Lab

Comment by M. Tornado Puppy

daisydog! i haven’t thought of that album in years. you totally brought a smily memory to me!

Comment by goodbear

stilllife, are you HOME home on saturday, or still in s. america? i don’t like mainstream country, poppy pop stuff, and jazz.

Comment by goodbear

good jams, mtp. some of which i have…some of which i have never heard of. so thanks for the new suggestions. i plan to do a massive download this weekend!

ok, maybe 50 macbux isn’t massive…

Comment by goodbear

Thinking of Spree – how about Big Electric Cat by Adrian Belew?

Comment by Dave & Hannah

Is M. Tornado Puppy from Chicago? Just curious from the music selection.

Good question about home right now, Goodbear. 🙂 The real home with family is in Illinois. Life after home was Washington, DC for ten years. Then home was B.A. Now we have an apartment in Santiago which I call home.

We are in a holding pattern in Punta Arenas before a flight home on Saturday. Tonight we´re taking a boat to Tierra del Fuego, an island shared between Argentina and Chile, to stay overnight.

Before I e-mail a playlist, I can back up M. Tornado Puppy´s suggestion of The Flaming Lips, Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robot. It always makes me feel happy. Some of my must-have albums include Joni Mitchell´s Blue and Ladies of the Canyon, Crowded House´s greatest hits, Abba Gold, and Elvis #1. I´ll post some of my ¨tape mixes¨ for my iPod, too. Chau!

Comment by stilllifeinbuenosaires

I’ll let Last.fm make my recommendations for me! 😉

NOTE: My favorite band on that list is actually Texas, but I just started listening to them about six months ago so they haven’t quite caught up with Sam Phillips, Aimee Mann, and Roxette yet.

Comment by Dennis the Vizsla

stilllife,i’m not sure where he’s from exactly. i have never heard of yoshimi battles the pink robot before. i will have to do some ear sampling on itunes today!

Comment by goodbear

How about some music from Cape Breton? The Barra MacNeils have an album called Until Now that lives in the car; we play it on every road trip. Two of my favourite tracks are “The Banks of the Roses” and “My Heart’s in the Highlands”.

Comment by lavenderbay

I have quite the collection on my ipod, but my favorites include: The Jayhawks, Rainy Day Music – love every song on the CD; Hosts’ The Planets; Neil Diamond, of course!; and Alison Krauss.

Good luck! It can be overwhelming… but fun!

Comment by Elizabeth

I love audio books on my Ipod.

Comment by solsticekennels

oh elizabeth! i forgot about your guy, neil!

Comment by goodbear

The Cowboy Junkies make all three of the dogs crash.

Comment by Nigel, Sola & Co.




Leave a Reply

