cody bear's friends


Today in the back yard
July 14, 2014, 1:04 am
Filed under: dogs | Tags: , , , , , , ,

My dad gave me this cactus maybe 5 or 6 years ago as a cutting.  It’ hasn’t grown much or done anything. Then recently little pups have popped up and last night I saw a flower bud.  I didn’t notice it earlier because it’s kind of out of the way in a non-watering area.  Then this morning…..

late bloomer cactus!

late bloomer cactus!

So vibrant. So as long as I had the camera out I thought I’d show you the current state of the plants in my back yard:

Here is one of the night bloomers. Second go around this summer.  Two blooms opened last night!

cereus

cereus

And I don’t know what this is. These were on sale at Home Depot so I took a chance…

cheery flower

cheery flower

And this guy….

bryophyllum daigrmontianum

bryophyllum daigremontianum

Also known as a “mother of thousands”, this bryophyllum daigremontianum is about 48 inches tall and will have some interesting flowers later in the year.

And the Basil…

IMG_0241

Basil

And for lunch I made a fluffy omelet with this basil, sliced grape tomatoes and mozzarella cheese.  So good!

spruce cone cactus

spruce cone cactus

I have a few of these but this one is going crazy.  He has been growing straight up all year, then last week he appeared to fall on his side.  But now he has turned himself back to fast the other direction.  Love him!

mexican fencepost cactus

mexican fencepost cactus

portuclaca

portuclaca

I don’t know what this is. A friend gave me the cuttings a month ago and he’s really doing great.

cactus

cactus

And here! a locust exoskeleton on a carrion plant!

carrion plant

carrion plant

And it’s a good thing the yard is big, because in between all these plants we need room for this:

dogs


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment